Newsletter Signup

All of Halton’s Municipally-Elected Officials Condemn Hospital Protests, Support Protection Areas

LOGO_Halton Region and Municipalities_wide

*Please see below a joint statement issued by elected officials in Halton Region.

Sept. 15, 2021 — HALTON, Ont. — Halton Region elected officials support the call for the creation of safety zones around hospitals to protect people seeking or providing medical treatment from harassment.

Recent protests at hospitals have included hateful and harmful messages, harassment and misinformation.

Healthcare itself and its people have been targets of abusive messages.

We condemn the abuse and harassment of healthcare workers.

Protests against government policy and action should take place at the places of government.

We represent our community’s continuing strong support for our healthcare heroes. There is an overwhelming majority in our community who support our healthcare people.

We know they join in our respect for everyone’s right of peaceful protest. We know they also believe protests must not take place in locations or in ways that could impede access to essential healthcare.

We all thank our healthcare personnel for the enormous sacrifices you have made and continue to make during this pandemic to heal us and keep us safe.

Signed by,

Halton Regional Chair Gary Carr

Mayor Marianne Meed Ward, City of Burlington

Ward 1 City and Regional Councillor Kelvin Galbraith, City of Burlington

Ward 2 City and Regional Councillor Lisa Kearns, City of Burlington

Ward 3 City and Regional Councillor Rory Nisan, City of Burlington

Ward 4 City and Regional Councillor Shawna Stolte, City of Burlington

Ward 5 City and Regional Councillor Paul Sharman, City of Burlington

Ward 6 City and Regional Councillor Angelo Bentivegna, City of Burlington

Mayor Rick Bonnette, Town of Halton Hills

Ward 1 Town Councillor Michael Albano

Ward 1 Town Councillor Jon Hurst

Ward 2 Town Councillor Ted Brown

Ward 2 Town Councillor Bryan Lewis

Ward 3 Town Councillor Wendy Farrow-Reed

Ward 3 Town Councillor Moya Johnson

Ward 4 Town Councillor Bob Inglis

Ward 4 Town Councillor Ann Lawlor

Wards 1 & 2 Regional Councillor Clark Somerville

Wards 3 & 4 Regional Councillor Jane Fogal

Mayor Gordon Krantz, Town of Milton

Ward 1 Regional Councillor Colin Best

Ward 1 Town Councillor Kristina Tesser Derksen

Ward 2 Town Councillor John Challinor II

Ward 2 Regional Councillor Rick Malboeuf

Ward 3 Regional Councillor Mike Cluett

Ward 3 Town Councillor Rick Di Lorenzo

Ward 4 Town Councillor Sameera Ali

Ward 4 Regional Councillor Zeeshan Hamid

Mayor Rob Burton, Town of Oakville

Ward 1 Town Councillor Beth Robertson

Ward 1 Regional Councillor Sean O’Meara

Ward 2 Town Councillor Ray Chisholm

Ward 2 Regional Councillor Cathy Duddeck

Ward 3 Town Councillor Janet Haslett-Theall

Ward 3 Regional Councillor Dave Gittings

Ward 4 Town Councillor Peter Longo

Ward 4 Regional Councillor Allan Elgar

Ward 5 Town Councillor Marc Grant

Ward 5 Regional Councillor Jeff Knoll

Ward 6 Town Councillor Natalia Lishchyna

Ward 6 Regional Councillor Tom Adams

Ward 7 Town Councillor Jasvinder Sandhu

Ward 7 Regional Councillor Pavan Parmar

Receive new post notifications by email

1 thought on “All of Halton’s Municipally-Elected Officials Condemn Hospital Protests, Support Protection Areas”

  1. Thank you for this. Given the provincial government’s tendency to delay helpful measures, anything we can mandate as a city or region would be good in the meantime.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Here are guidelines before you comment, and our expectations before we will post:

  • Be civil. Would you speak this way to a good friend? If not, rewrite.
  • Focus on the issues. Build your argument and make your case in support of your opinion from facts, research or other sources. That way we can all learn. “I disagree with so-and-so because…” is fine; “So-and-so is naïve/stupid  for thinking the way he/she does and here’s why…” is not acceptable.
  • Don’t make personal attacks. Don’t assume motives of those you disagree with, make unfounded allegations, spread rumours, or engage in any other behaviours that would discourage you from participating if someone said this to, or about, you. The Golden Rule applies: Do unto others as you would have done to you. We will edit or not post comments with this type of content.
  • Say it once: When comments from the same individual or individuals become repetitive, going over ground already stated, we reserve the right to close commenting.
  • Use your full, and real, name. If wish to make a comment in public, we expect you will publicly stand behind it with your name. If you don’t want to publicly reveal your name, that’s fine; you are always welcome to share your thoughts with me privately via my email below. I welcome and consider all feedback in making decisions for the community.
  • Have fun, consider and learn. Share your views and read those of others. May we all benefit from a healthy exchange of ideas, and learn a little more about the people in our community, what you think, and what’s important to each of you. You may end up changing your mind about an issue; even if you don’t, we hope everyone will gain a greater understanding of why people have different perspectives.


A Better Burlington began in 2006 after my neighbours said they felt left out of city decisions, learning about them only after they’d been made. As journalist for 22 years, I thought “I can do something about that” and a website and newsletter were born. They’ve taken various forms and names over the years, but the intent remains: To let you know what’s happening at City Hall before decisions are made, so you can influence outcomes for A Better Burlington. The best decisions are made when elected representatives tap the wisdom of our community members, and welcome many different perspectives.This site allows residents to comment and debate with each other; our Commenting Guidelines established in 2016 aim to keep debate respectful. Got an idea or comment you want to share privately? Please, get in touch:

Newsletter Sign Up

Phone: 905-335-7607

Media Specialist: John Bkila